Calories in Beans, from canned, NS as to type, fat added
Generic food Canned Beans and Legumes
Beans, from canned, NS as to type, fat added contains 185 kcal per 100 g. A typical serving of 1 cup (185 g) provides about 342 kcal.
Roughly 51% of its calories come from carbohydrates, with 33% from fat and 16% from protein (estimated with general energy factors).
That is close to the median for beans, peas, legumes on FoodFactly (173 kcal per 100 g).
100 g provides 29% of the Daily Value for copper, 14% of the Daily Value for iron and 14% of the Daily Value for Vitamin E.
These values are for the canned food. Raw and other preparations have their own values, listed separately below.
The data comes from the USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies (FNDDS), which calculates values from recipes of the ingredients.
Nutrition facts
| Nutrient | Amount per 100 g | % DV |
|---|---|---|
| Calories C | 185 kcal | |
| Total fat C | 6.8 g | 9% |
| Saturated fat C | 0.98 g | 5% |
| Cholesterol C | 0 mg | 0% |
| Sodium C | 311 mg | 14% |
| Total carbohydrates C | 24.1 g | 9% |
| Dietary fiber C | 8 g | 29% |
| Total sugars C | 1.3 g | |
| Protein C | 7.7 g | 15% |
| Vitamin A C | 0 µg | 0% |
| Vitamin C C | 1.7 mg | 2% |
| Vitamin D C | 0 µg | 0% |
| Vitamin E C | 2 mg | 14% |
| Vitamin K C | 9.4 µg | 8% |
| Thiamin (B1) C | 0.11 mg | 9% |
| Riboflavin (B2) C | 0.058 mg | 4% |
| Niacin (B3) C | 0.51 mg | 3% |
| Vitamin B6 C | 0.17 mg | 10% |
| Folate (B9) C | 48 µg | 12% |
| Vitamin B12 C | 0 µg | 0% |
| Choline C | 33.2 mg | 6% |
| Calcium C | 69 mg | 5% |
| Iron C | 2.5 mg | 14% |
| Magnesium C | 52 mg | 12% |
| Phosphorus C | 149 mg | 12% |
| Potassium C | 441 mg | 9% |
| Zinc C | 0.86 mg | 8% |
| Copper C | 0.26 mg | 29% |
| Selenium C | 4.9 µg | 9% |
% DV: percent of the FDA Daily Value for adults (reference amounts). Letters show how each value was obtained: M measured, C calculated, L label, Z assumed zero, I imputed. Vitamins and minerals not listed were not reported by the source.
Nutritional breakdown
- Protein 16%
- Carbohydrates 51%
- Fat 33%
Approximate share of calories, using general energy factors (4 kcal/g protein and carbohydrate, 9 kcal/g fat, 7 kcal/g alcohol).
Vitamins and minerals, % Daily Value per 100 g
Nutritional insights
- Protein7.7 gbelow the median for beans, peas, legumes (median 8.3 g)
- Fiber8 gabove the median for beans, peas, legumes (median 7.2 g)
- Sugars1.3 gbelow the median for beans, peas, legumes (median 1.6 g)
- Saturated fat0.98 gabove the median for beans, peas, legumes (median 0.95 g)
- Sodium311 mgabove the median for beans, peas, legumes (median 237 mg)
- Protein per 100 kcal4.1 gprotein density, useful for comparing foods with different calorie levels
- Water59 gwater per 100 g, which largely explains differences between raw, cooked and dried forms
Full nutrient profile
Fats and cholesterol (2)
| Monounsaturated fat C | 2.7 g |
|---|---|
| Polyunsaturated fat C | 2.6 g |
Individual fatty acids (19)
| EPA (omega-3, 20:5 n-3) C | 0 g |
|---|---|
| DHA (omega-3, 22:6 n-3) C | 0 g |
| Linoleic acid (omega-6, 18:2) C | 2.2 g |
| SFA 4:0 C | 0 g |
| SFA 6:0 C | 0 g |
| SFA 8:0 C | 0 g |
| SFA 10:0 C | 0 g |
| SFA 12:0 C | 0 g |
| SFA 14:0 C | 0.003 g |
| SFA 16:0 C | 0.74 g |
| SFA 18:0 C | 0.18 g |
| MUFA 18:1 C | 2.6 g |
| PUFA 18:3 C | 0.43 g |
| PUFA 20:4 C | 0 g |
| MUFA 16:1 C | 0.021 g |
| PUFA 18:4 C | 0 g |
| MUFA 20:1 C | 0.041 g |
| MUFA 22:1 C | 0 g |
| PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA) C | 0 g |
Carotenoids (6)
| Beta-carotene C | 0 µg |
|---|---|
| Lycopene C | 0 µg |
| Lutein + zeaxanthin C | 0 µg |
| Retinol C | 0 µg |
| Carotene, alpha C | 0 µg |
| Cryptoxanthin, beta C | 0 µg |
Other components (8)
| Water C | 59 g |
|---|---|
| Alcohol C | 0 g |
| Caffeine C | 0 mg |
| Theobromine C | 0 mg |
| Folic acid C | 0 µg |
| Folate, food C | 48 µg |
| Vitamin E, added C | 0 mg |
| Vitamin B-12, added C | 0 µg |
Other forms of Beans
Raw, cooked, dried and processed versions are separate records with their own measured values.
Per 100 g. Calories in kcal. n/a: not reported by the source.
Foods with a similar nutritional profile
| Food | Calories | Protein | Carbs | Fat |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pinto beans, from canned, fat added Canned | 188 | 7.4 g | 24.3 g | 7.1 g |
| Pinto beans, from canned, reduced sodium Canned | 188 | 7.4 g | 24.4 g | 7.1 g |
| Kidney beans, from canned, fat added Canned | 186 | 8.4 g | 23.8 g | 6.8 g |
| Kidney beans, from canned, reduced sodium Canned | 186 | 8.4 g | 23.8 g | 6.8 g |
| Lentils, from canned Canned | 166 | 8.4 g | 18.7 g | 6.8 g |
| Black beans, from canned, fat added Canned | 178 | 8.5 g | 23.4 g | 5.9 g |
| Black beans, from canned, reduced sodium Canned | 178 | 8.5 g | 23.4 g | 5.9 g |
| Chickpeas, from canned, reduced sodium Canned | 197 | 7.9 g | 21.6 g | 9.4 g |
Per 100 g. Calories in kcal. n/a: not reported by the source.
Frequently asked questions
How many calories are in canned beans?
100 g of canned beans has 185 kcal. 1 cup (185 g): about 342 kcal.
How much protein is in canned beans?
Canned beans contains 7.7 g of protein per 100 g (15% of the 50 g Daily Value), or 14.2 g in 1 cup (185 g). About 16% of its calories come from protein. Compared with other beans, peas, legumes, that is below the median (median 8.3 g).
How many carbs are in canned beans?
Canned beans has 24.1 g of total carbohydrates per 100 g, including 8 g of fiber and 1.3 g of sugars.
How much fat is in canned beans?
Canned beans contains 6.8 g of fat per 100 g, of which 0.98 g is saturated (5% of the Daily Value).
What vitamins and minerals does canned beans contain?
Per 100 g, the most notable amounts relative to the Daily Value are copper (29% DV), iron (14% DV), Vitamin E (14% DV), magnesium (12% DV) and Folate (B9) (12% DV). The full list is in the vitamins and minerals table above.
How much sodium is in canned beans?
100 g contains 311 mg of sodium, 14% of the 2,300 mg Daily Value.
Does beans have the same nutrition canned and cooked?
No. Per 100 g, beans, from canned, NS as to type, fat added has 185 kcal, while beans, baked, canned, no salt added has 105 kcal. Cooking changes the water content, so always use the record that matches how you weigh the food.
Where does this nutrition data come from?
From USDA FoodData Central: FNDDS (Survey), record dated October 31, 2024. FoodFactly last checked it on November 6, 2026. Each value above shows whether it was measured, calculated or taken from a label.
Source of the nutrition information
- USDA FoodData Central: FNDDS (Survey), record 2707350. License: CC0 1.0 (U.S. public domain). Source record dated October 31, 2024. Imported November 6, 2026.
Last updated: . Data quality score: 100/100 (how it is calculated).
General nutrition information, not medical advice. Individual needs differ; see our disclaimer.