Calories in Beans, navy, canned, sodium added, drained and rinsed

Generic food Canned Beans and Legumes

Beans, navy, canned, sodium added, drained and rinsed contains 116 kcal per 100 g. A typical serving of reference amount, racc (130 g) provides about 151 kcal.

Roughly 67% of its calories come from carbohydrates, with 22% from protein and 11% from fat (estimated with general energy factors).

That is close to the median for legumes and legume products on FoodFactly (127 kcal per 100 g).

100 g provides 32% of the Daily Value for copper and 16% of the Daily Value for manganese.

These values are for the canned food. Raw and other preparations have their own values, listed separately below.

The data comes from USDA FoodData Central: Foundation Foods, where most core values were measured by laboratory analysis.

116kcal per 100 g
6.6 gprotein
20 gcarbohydrates
1.4 gfat
151kcal in reference amount, racc (130 g)

Nutrition facts

Nutrition facts for the selected amount
NutrientAmount per 100 g% DV
Calories C 116 kcal
Total fat M 1.4 g 2%
Saturated fat not reported
Sodium M 190 mg 8%
Total carbohydrates C 20 g 7%
Dietary fiber M 6.9 g 24%
Total sugars not reported
Protein C 6.6 g 13%
Calcium M 63.9 mg5%
Iron M 1.6 mg9%
Magnesium M 29.6 mg7%
Phosphorus M 86.7 mg7%
Potassium M 184 mg4%
Zinc M 0.63 mg6%
Copper M 0.29 mg32%
Manganese M 0.38 mg16%

% DV: percent of the FDA Daily Value for adults (reference amounts). Letters show how each value was obtained: M measured, C calculated, L label, Z assumed zero, I imputed. Vitamins and minerals not listed were not reported by the source.

Nutritional breakdown

Protein: 22%Carbohydrates: 67%Fat: 11%116kcal / 100 g
  • Protein 22%
  • Carbohydrates 67%
  • Fat 11%

Approximate share of calories, using general energy factors (4 kcal/g protein and carbohydrate, 9 kcal/g fat, 7 kcal/g alcohol).

Vitamins and minerals, % Daily Value per 100 g

Copper32%Manganese16%Iron9%Magnesium7%Phosphorus7%Zinc6%Calcium5%Potassium4%

Nutritional insights

  • Protein6.6 gbelow the median for legumes and legume products (median 8.9 g)
  • Fiber6.9 gabove the median for legumes and legume products (median 5.3 g)
  • Fat1.4 gbelow the median for legumes and legume products (median 1.4 g)
  • Sodium190 mgabove the median for legumes and legume products (median 41 mg)
  • Protein per 100 kcal5.7 gprotein density, useful for comparing foods with different calorie levels
  • Water71 gwater per 100 g, which largely explains differences between raw, cooked and dried forms

Full nutrient profile

Sugars and starch (1)
Starch M12.1 g
Other components (4)
Water M71 g
Nitrogen M1.1 g
Ash M1.1 g
Resistant starch M2 g

Other forms of Beans

Raw, cooked, dried and processed versions are separate records with their own measured values.

Per 100 g. Calories in kcal. n/a: not reported by the source.

Foods with a similar nutritional profile

Per 100 g. Calories in kcal. n/a: not reported by the source.

Frequently asked questions

How many calories are in canned beans?

100 g of canned beans has 116 kcal. Reference amount, racc (130 g): about 151 kcal.

How much protein is in canned beans?

Canned beans contains 6.6 g of protein per 100 g (13% of the 50 g Daily Value), or 8.5 g in reference amount, racc (130 g). About 22% of its calories come from protein. Compared with other legumes and legume products, that is below the median (median 8.9 g).

How many carbs are in canned beans?

Canned beans has 20 g of total carbohydrates per 100 g, including 6.9 g of fiber.

How much fat is in canned beans?

Canned beans contains 1.4 g of fat per 100 g.

What vitamins and minerals does canned beans contain?

Per 100 g, the most notable amounts relative to the Daily Value are copper (32% DV) and manganese (16% DV). The full list is in the vitamins and minerals table above.

How much sodium is in canned beans?

100 g contains 190 mg of sodium, 8% of the 2,300 mg Daily Value.

Does beans have the same nutrition canned and cooked?

No. Per 100 g, beans, navy, canned, sodium added, drained and rinsed has 116 kcal, while beans, baked, canned, no salt added has 105 kcal. Cooking changes the water content, so always use the record that matches how you weigh the food.

Where does this nutrition data come from?

From USDA FoodData Central: Foundation Foods, record dated October 26, 2023. FoodFactly last checked it on November 6, 2026. Each value above shows whether it was measured, calculated or taken from a label.

Source of the nutrition information

  • USDA FoodData Central: Foundation Foods, record 2644286. License: CC0 1.0 (U.S. public domain). Source record dated October 26, 2023. Imported November 6, 2026.

Last updated: . Data quality score: 90/100 (how it is calculated).

General nutrition information, not medical advice. Individual needs differ; see our disclaimer.